Come Back, Little Sheba (1952)

synopsis

An emotionally remote recovering alcoholic and his dowdy, unambitious wife face a personal crisis when they take in an attractive lodger.

~ Internet Movie Database

review

I could not believe my luck when I turned on the television and this movie had just begun. Along with my long time desire to see this movie, I was pleased to learn it touched on alcoholism and starred Shirley Booth.

As a former anonymous member, I took issue with the use of last names in the meeting, though within the meeting it would be acceptable. I did LOVE how the birthdays were celebrated…No Singing!

Unfortunately, my knee went out on me during pivotal point before Doc (Burt Lancaster) “goes out” again, so I missed the “reason,” though I suspect it had something to do with his attraction to Marie. The ending of the movie is very telling of a relationship between and alcoholic and a family member. Shirley Booth was perfect for the role of Lola, capturing the loneliness of her character perfectly. Apparently, Shirley Booth won an Academy Award for Best Actress.

I even loved the huge house with the front porch!

Leave a Reply

