Silence (2016)

synopsis

Legendary director Martin Scorsese’s Silence tells the stunning and “powerful” story of two Christian missionaries (Adam Driver and Oscar® nominee Andrew Garfield) who travel to Japan in search of their missing mentor (Academy Award® nominee Liam Neeson) at a time when Christianity was outlawed. When they are captured and imprisoned, both men are plunged into an odyssey that will test their faith, challenge their sanity and, perhaps, risk their very lives in this “passionate, harrowing, beautiful” masterpiece.

~ movie website

review

Very powerful and appearing at a very interesting time of my life, having just learned that cancer activity was detected in my thyroid and I am scheduled for a biospy and mri in three days; also noticed spine compression (?) fractures.

Anyway, I been thinking on this subject way too much lately.

However, let it be known that in my opinion nothing “”tangible” matters!” My last thought was that my physical being will cease to exist…completely, memory too…if I have a spirit/soul, why would it be tortured with all my physical trappings? Memory included?

Frankly, I was kinda of freaked out how a culture could “loose faith -” for lack of a more analytical term – yet be willing to sacrifice one’s life for another culture’s faith? I’ve always found this practice revolting. Let people believe what they want: One rule, one law for all.

*Brian Truitt, USA TODAY
 **Ty Burr, BOSTON GLOBE
 †2016, Best Actor, Hacksaw Ridge
 ††1993, Best Actor, Schindler’s List
Leave a Reply

